Arizona Diamondbacks
Predictions, Previews, and Odds

#961 Colorado Rockies
vs. #962 Arizona Diamondbacks

Tuesday, August 20, 2019 at 9:40pm EDT
Written by Nick Raffoul

The Colorado Rockies will head on the road to Chase Field on Tuesday evening for the second game of their National League West series clash versus the Arizona Diamondbacks

The Diamondbacks took a step back in the National League Wild Card race over the weekend, losing three out of four games at home versus the division-rival San Francisco Giants. After winning Sunday’s series finale, Arizona enters the week 4.5-games back of the Chicago Cubs for the final postseason spot in the National League. Getting back into postseason contention will be an uphill battle, as they open up a three-game series versus a Rockies’ team that has won four in a row. Can the Diamondbacks get back on the winning track versus the Rockies on Tuesday night?

Ryan McMahon breaking out in second half

Despite their recent success, the Rockies remain out of postseason contention in the National League, but that doesn’t mean there hasn’t been a few bright spots down the stretch for Colorado. Ryan McMahon has been one of those bright spots for the Rockies, especially since the All-Star Break. The 24-year-old second baseman has flashed signs of an impending breakout in the second half of the season. He’s hitting a healthy .293 with 10 home runs and 27 RBIs in 116 at-bats since the break, compared to just .256 with seven home runs in 238 at-bats prior to the Midsummer Classic. 

Left-hander Kyle Freeland is scheduled to toe the rubber for the Rockies in Game 2 of their series on the road at Chase Field. The 26-year-old has struggled for the better part of the season, taking a major step backward after last season’s breakout campaign. Freeland is 3-10 with a 7.09 ERA in 19 starts this year, but he’s shown signs of improvement over his last three starts. The Rockies’ lefty has completed six innings in back-to-back starts for just the second time this season last time out against these very DBacks. In that outing, he managed to escape with a no-decision despite allowing five earned runs in six innings of work. 

Freeland has made three starts in total against Arizona this season, going 0-1 despite posting a 10.80 ERA in 15 combined innings of work. He was 3-2 with a 2.80 ERA in his previous eight career starts versus Arizona. According to Baseball Savant, current DBacks’ hitters own a .299 batting average in 118 plate appearances off the Rockies’ lefty heading into Tuesday’s contest. 

See Full Analysis with Predictions

Upcoming Scheduled Games

We currently do not have a prediction for this team, check back closer to the game day!

Colorado Rockies vs.
Arizona Diamondbacks
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
3:40pm EDT
Arizona Diamondbacks vs.
Milwaukee Brewers
Friday, August 23, 2019
8:10pm EDT
Arizona Diamondbacks vs.
Milwaukee Brewers
Saturday, August 24, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Arizona Diamondbacks vs.
Milwaukee Brewers
Sunday, August 25, 2019
2:10pm EDT
Arizona Diamondbacks vs.
San Francisco Giants
Monday, August 26, 2019
9:45pm EDT
Arizona Diamondbacks vs.
San Francisco Giants
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
9:45pm EDT
Los Angeles Dodgers vs.
Arizona Diamondbacks
Thursday, August 29, 2019
9:40pm EDT
Los Angeles Dodgers vs.
Arizona Diamondbacks
Friday, August 30, 2019
9:40pm EDT
Los Angeles Dodgers vs.
Arizona Diamondbacks
Saturday, August 31, 2019
8:10pm EDT
Los Angeles Dodgers vs.
Arizona Diamondbacks
Sunday, September 1, 2019
4:10pm EDT
San Diego Padres vs.
Arizona Diamondbacks
Monday, September 2, 2019
4:10pm EDT
San Diego Padres vs.
Arizona Diamondbacks
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
9:40pm EDT
San Diego Padres vs.
Arizona Diamondbacks
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
9:40pm EDT
Arizona Diamondbacks vs.
Cincinnati Reds
Friday, September 6, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Arizona Diamondbacks vs.
Cincinnati Reds
Saturday, September 7, 2019
4:10pm EDT
Arizona Diamondbacks vs.
Cincinnati Reds
Sunday, September 8, 2019
1:10pm EDT
Arizona Diamondbacks vs.
New York Mets
Monday, September 9, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Arizona Diamondbacks vs.
New York Mets
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Arizona Diamondbacks vs.
New York Mets
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Arizona Diamondbacks vs.
New York Mets
Thursday, September 12, 2019
1:10pm EDT
Cincinnati Reds vs.
Arizona Diamondbacks
Friday, September 13, 2019
9:40pm EDT
Cincinnati Reds vs.
Arizona Diamondbacks
Saturday, September 14, 2019
8:10pm EDT
Cincinnati Reds vs.
Arizona Diamondbacks
Sunday, September 15, 2019
4:10pm EDT
Miami Marlins vs.
Arizona Diamondbacks
Monday, September 16, 2019
9:40pm EDT
Miami Marlins vs.
Arizona Diamondbacks
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
9:40pm EDT
Miami Marlins vs.
Arizona Diamondbacks
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
3:40pm EDT