Chicago Cubs
Predictions, Previews, and Odds

#959 San Francisco Giants
vs. #960 Chicago Cubs

Tuesday, August 20, 2019 at 8:05pm EDT
Written by Nick Raffoul

The San Francisco Giants will travel on the road to Wrigley Field on Tuesday evening for the opening game of their three-game National League series showdown versus the Chicago Cubs.

These two teams are still fighting for a playoff spot in a heated National League postseason race. The Cubs are currently tied with the St. Louis Cardinals for the top spot in the NL Central standings, but would drop down to the final Wild Card spot in the NL if the season were to end today. Meanwhile, the Giants remain within striking distance of the final Wild Card spot, as they head into the week just 3.5-games behind the Cubs. Can San Francisco cut into their deficit in the Wild Card standings with a victory on the road over the Cubs on Tuesday evening?

Beede seeks turnaround versus Cubsr

San Francisco was unable to complete a four-game sweep versus the division-rival Arizona Diamondbacks over the weekend, taking three straight before losing the series finale on Sunday. That will make this week’s series against the Cubs arguably their biggest three-game series of the year. Giants’ manager Bruce Bochy, who is retiring at the end of the season, is well-aware of the importance of his team’s impending series versus the Cubs, saying “We’ll head to Chicago, take a day off and regroup, and it’s going to be another big series.”

San Francisco will turn to rookie right-hander Tyler Beede on Tuesday as they try to keep pace in the Wild Card race. Beede has had a tough time adjusting to being a full-time starter in the big leagues, going 3-7 with a 5.77 ERA in 17 games (15 starts) this season. Times have been even tougher as of late for the Giants’ right-hander, who has allowed four earned runs or more in five consecutive starts. During that span, the 26-year-old is 0-4 with an 8.49 ERA and he’s allowed eight home runs over his last 23 ⅓ innings of work. 

Beede has made one start versus the Cubs already this season, allowing four earned runs and three home runs in just 5 ⅔ frames. According to Baseball Savant, current Cubs are hitting .353 in 18 plate appearances off the Giants’ right-hander heading into Tuesday’s contest. 

See Full Analysis with Predictions

Upcoming Scheduled Games

We currently do not have a prediction for this team, check back closer to the game day!

San Francisco Giants vs.
Chicago Cubs
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
8:05pm EDT
San Francisco Giants vs.
Chicago Cubs
Thursday, August 22, 2019
2:20pm EDT
Washington Nationals vs.
Chicago Cubs
Friday, August 23, 2019
2:20pm EDT
Washington Nationals vs.
Chicago Cubs
Saturday, August 24, 2019
2:20pm EDT
Washington Nationals vs.
Chicago Cubs
Sunday, August 25, 2019
2:20pm EDT
Chicago Cubs vs.
New York Mets
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Chicago Cubs vs.
New York Mets
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Chicago Cubs vs.
New York Mets
Thursday, August 29, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Milwaukee Brewers vs.
Chicago Cubs
Friday, August 30, 2019
2:20pm EDT
Milwaukee Brewers vs.
Chicago Cubs
Saturday, August 31, 2019
2:20pm EDT
Milwaukee Brewers vs.
Chicago Cubs
Sunday, September 1, 2019
2:20pm EDT
Seattle Mariners vs.
Chicago Cubs
Monday, September 2, 2019
2:20pm EDT
Seattle Mariners vs.
Chicago Cubs
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
8:05pm EDT
Chicago Cubs vs.
Milwaukee Brewers
Thursday, September 5, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Chicago Cubs vs.
Milwaukee Brewers
Friday, September 6, 2019
8:10pm EDT
Chicago Cubs vs.
Milwaukee Brewers
Saturday, September 7, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Chicago Cubs vs.
Milwaukee Brewers
Sunday, September 8, 2019
2:10pm EDT
Chicago Cubs vs.
San Diego Padres
Monday, September 9, 2019
10:10pm EDT
Chicago Cubs vs.
San Diego Padres
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
10:10pm EDT
Chicago Cubs vs.
San Diego Padres
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
10:10pm EDT
Chicago Cubs vs.
San Diego Padres
Thursday, September 12, 2019
3:40pm EDT
Pittsburgh Pirates vs.
Chicago Cubs
Friday, September 13, 2019
4:05pm EDT
Pittsburgh Pirates vs.
Chicago Cubs
Saturday, September 14, 2019
2:20pm EDT
Pittsburgh Pirates vs.
Chicago Cubs
Sunday, September 15, 2019
2:20pm EDT
Cincinnati Reds vs.
Chicago Cubs
Monday, September 16, 2019
8:05pm EDT
Cincinnati Reds vs.
Chicago Cubs
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
8:05pm EDT
Cincinnati Reds vs.
Chicago Cubs
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
8:05pm EDT