Cleveland Indians
Predictions, Previews, and Odds

#965 Cleveland Indians -110
vs. #966 Texas Rangers 9.5

Monday, June 17, 2019 at 8:05pm EDT
Written by Chris Altruda

Cleveland Indians at Texas Rangers

When and Where: Monday, June 17, Globe Life Park at Arlington, Texas, 8:05 p.m. EDT.

The injury-riddled Cleveland Indians finally get a piece of their starting rotation back as Mike Clevinger gets the ball for Monday night’s series opener versus the Texas Rangers.

Clevinger looks to bring stability, quality to Tribe rotation

Clevinger (1-0, 0.00 ERA) has made just two starts this season, with the last coming April 7 when he strained his upper back.

The right-hander, who won a combined 25 games in 2017-18, is returning to the Indians ahead of schedule after it was originally estimated it would be 6-to-8 weeks before he could catch a baseball. Clevinger was sharp in his second rehab outing with Double-A Erie on Tuesday, scattering three hits in 5 1-3 shutout innings while hitting the mid-90s with his fastball.

“Last night was really good,” Indians manager Terry Francona told The Associated Press on Wednesday. “Will he be able to command all his pitches the way he did with six weeks in spring training with a couple starts? I don’t know. You hope. But we’ll keep an eye on him and try to build him up in a way that he can stay healthy and be healthy and productive, but sure is exciting to see what he’s doing.”

“I was trying to come back and throw the next day,” Clevinger said. “I asked them every day even though I knew the timeline. I was like, ‘I feel good, can I throw today?’ I asked them every day to the point they that they were just getting (mad) at me for asking.

“I just saw the timeline and I was like, if anything, I want to be back before the All-Star break. I always had that in my mind, that I wanted to be back before then.”

Clevinger is 0-1 with a 2.79 ERA in three career starts versus Texas, striking out 23 in 19 1-3 innings while holding opponents to a .191 batting average. The Indians have not given the righty much to work with in terms of run support, totaling one run in those games.

He took a loss in the most recent matchup, giving up two runs and four hits in 6 2-3 innings of a 5-0 road defeat July 22. Clevinger, though, has dominated Elvis Andrus, striking out the Rangers shortstop four times while holding him hitless in seven at-bats.

See Full Analysis with Predictions

Upcoming Scheduled Games

We currently do not have a prediction for this team, check back closer to the game day!

Cleveland Indians vs.
Texas Rangers
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
8:05pm EDT
Cleveland Indians vs.
Texas Rangers
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
8:05pm EDT
Cleveland Indians vs.
Texas Rangers
Thursday, June 20, 2019
2:05pm EDT
Detroit Tigers vs.
Cleveland Indians
Friday, June 21, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Detroit Tigers vs.
Cleveland Indians
Saturday, June 22, 2019
4:10pm EDT
Detroit Tigers vs.
Cleveland Indians
Sunday, June 23, 2019
1:10pm EDT
Kansas City Royals vs.
Cleveland Indians
Monday, June 24, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Kansas City Royals vs.
Cleveland Indians
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Kansas City Royals vs.
Cleveland Indians
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
1:10pm EDT
Cleveland Indians vs.
Baltimore Orioles
Friday, June 28, 2019
7:05pm EDT
Cleveland Indians vs.
Baltimore Orioles
Saturday, June 29, 2019
4:05pm EDT
Cleveland Indians vs.
Baltimore Orioles
Sunday, June 30, 2019
1:05pm EDT
Cleveland Indians vs.
Kansas City Royals
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
8:15pm EDT
Cleveland Indians vs.
Kansas City Royals
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
8:15pm EDT
Cleveland Indians vs.
Kansas City Royals
Thursday, July 4, 2019
1:15pm EDT
Cleveland Indians vs.
Cincinnati Reds
Saturday, July 6, 2019
4:10pm EDT
Cleveland Indians vs.
Cincinnati Reds
Sunday, July 7, 2019
1:10pm EDT
Minnesota Twins vs.
Cleveland Indians
Friday, July 12, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Minnesota Twins vs.
Cleveland Indians
Saturday, July 13, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Minnesota Twins vs.
Cleveland Indians
Sunday, July 14, 2019
1:10pm EDT
Detroit Tigers vs.
Cleveland Indians
Monday, July 15, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Detroit Tigers vs.
Cleveland Indians
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
7:10pm EDT