Kansas City Royals
Predictions, Previews, and Odds

#971 Kansas City Royals
vs. #972 Seattle Mariners

Monday, June 17, 2019 at 10:10pm EDT
Written by Sporty Jordy

When and where: June 17, 2019, T-Mobile Park, Seattle, WA, 10:10 PM ET

The Seattle Mariners kick off a seven-game home stand on Monday night with a three-game meeting with the lowly Kansas City Royals. There isn’t much hope emanating from the Royals nearing the midway point of the season, aside from the mere chance of beating out the Baltimore Orioles to avoid the American League’s worst record. Meanwhile, the Mariners face the struggles of competing in a shark-filled AL West division. Danny Duffy will lead the way in the pitching rotation for the Royals in this series opposite of the Mariners’ lefty Tommy Milone.

Royals on the wrong side of history

Only five teams since 1980 have gone consecutive seasons losing 100 games, and the struggling Royals are currently on pace to be the sixth. The effect from the 2015 World Series win is starting to wear off, and hope of a turnaround is dwindling for Royals’ fans. Things have rapidly declined to the point where everything needs fixing—most notably, the moribund offense and unreliable pitching rotation.

Perhaps they could try convincing Kansas City Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes to follow in his father’s footsteps and play baseball in the NFL offseason. The Royals have reached the level of desperation and clearly need any talented arm they can get. They currently sit in last place in the AL Central division, two games out from tying the Orioles for the worst record in baseball.

After taking a series win over the Detroit Tigers, the Royals got off to an early start and upset the Minnesota Twins in Sunday’s closeout game of the weekend series.

Duffy will get his chance to lead the way towards a bounce-back series on Monday when he starts against the Mariners. The veteran lefty is throwing a 4.38 ERA in 49.1 innings spent on the mound this season. He recently clocked seven innings against the Detroit Tigers, who he held to four hits and two earned runs, while striking out seven batters. However, that strong performance still wasn’t enough to save the Royals from another loss.

See Full Analysis with Predictions

Upcoming Scheduled Games

We currently do not have a prediction for this team, check back closer to the game day!

Kansas City Royals vs.
Seattle Mariners
Tuesday, June 18, 2019
10:10pm EDT
Kansas City Royals vs.
Seattle Mariners
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
6:40pm EDT
Minnesota Twins vs.
Kansas City Royals
Thursday, June 20, 2019
8:15pm EDT
Minnesota Twins vs.
Kansas City Royals
Friday, June 21, 2019
8:15pm EDT
Minnesota Twins vs.
Kansas City Royals
Saturday, June 22, 2019
2:15pm EDT
Minnesota Twins vs.
Kansas City Royals
Sunday, June 23, 2019
2:15pm EDT
Kansas City Royals vs.
Cleveland Indians
Monday, June 24, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Kansas City Royals vs.
Cleveland Indians
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Kansas City Royals vs.
Cleveland Indians
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
1:10pm EDT
Kansas City Royals vs.
Toronto Blue Jays
Friday, June 28, 2019
7:07pm EDT
Kansas City Royals vs.
Toronto Blue Jays
Saturday, June 29, 2019
4:07pm EDT
Kansas City Royals vs.
Toronto Blue Jays
Sunday, June 30, 2019
1:07pm EDT
Kansas City Royals vs.
Toronto Blue Jays
Monday, July 1, 2019
1:07pm EDT
Cleveland Indians vs.
Kansas City Royals
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
8:15pm EDT
Cleveland Indians vs.
Kansas City Royals
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
8:15pm EDT
Cleveland Indians vs.
Kansas City Royals
Thursday, July 4, 2019
1:15pm EDT
Kansas City Royals vs.
Washington Nationals
Friday, July 5, 2019
7:05pm EDT
Kansas City Royals vs.
Washington Nationals
Saturday, July 6, 2019
4:05pm EDT
Kansas City Royals vs.
Washington Nationals
Sunday, July 7, 2019
1:35pm EDT
Detroit Tigers vs.
Kansas City Royals
Friday, July 12, 2019
8:15pm EDT
Detroit Tigers vs.
Kansas City Royals
Saturday, July 13, 2019
7:15pm EDT
Detroit Tigers vs.
Kansas City Royals
Sunday, July 14, 2019
2:15pm EDT
Chicago White Sox vs.
Kansas City Royals
Monday, July 15, 2019
8:15pm EDT
Chicago White Sox vs.
Kansas City Royals
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
8:15pm EDT