New York Mets
Predictions, Previews, and Odds

#977 Cleveland Indians
vs. #978 New York Mets

Tuesday, August 20, 2019 at 7:10pm EDT
Written by Chris Altruda

Cleveland Indians at New York Mets

When and Where: Tuesday, Aug. 20, Citi Field, Queens, N.Y., 7:10 p.m. EDT.

Shane Bieber looks to extend his run of quality outings and win a fifth consecutive road start Tuesday night when the Cleveland Indians begin a three-game series against the New York Mets in a clash of interleague wild-card hopefuls.

Bieber looks to keep Tribe in thick of AL Central race while leading wild-card chase

The Indians (74-51) began play this week 2 1/2 games behind the Minnesota Twins in the American League Central but also atop the AL wild-card race, 2 1/2 games better than the third-place Oakland Athletics.

Terry Francona’s team is on the back end of its New York road trip after splitting a four-game series with the Yankees. Cleveland salvaged the split with an 8-4 victory Sunday when Mike Freeman‘s three-run homer powered a four-run second to send the Indians on their way.

Bieber (12-5, 3,27 ERA) will try to keep the good times going in a different borough as he takes the ball for this series opener. The right-hander has posted a 1.89 ERA over his last five starts, winning three of them, but a lack of run support cost him chances to win the other two.

He took the loss Wednesday against Boston as a pair of solo homers in seven innings were enough to consign him to a 5-1 defeat that spoiled the accomplishment of reaching 200 strikeouts for the season. The long ball has been Bieber’s lone issue during his quality run, with six of the eight runs over 38 innings scoring on solo homers.

“He woke up feeling sick. He was nauseous the entire game and he gave us six,” Francona told the Indians’ official website. “I mean, there was a chance after the second inning that he was gonna come out of that game and he stayed out there for six innings and gave us a chance to win. That was impressive.”

Bieber, who is facing the Mets for the first time has been a dominant road pitcher since breaking into the major last year and is 15-2 with a 3.11 ERA in 22 starts outside Cleveland. The righty has a 1.13 ERA during his current four-start winning streak on the road, conceding four runs while striking out 40 in 32 innings and holding opponents to a .138 batting average.

See Full Analysis with Predictions

More Upcoming Predictions

#927 Cleveland Indians
vs. #928 New York Mets

Wednesday, August 21, 2019 at 7:10pm EDT
Written by Nick Raffoul

Upcoming Scheduled Games

We currently do not have a prediction for this team, check back closer to the game day!

Cleveland Indians vs.
New York Mets
Thursday, August 22, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Atlanta Braves vs.
New York Mets
Friday, August 23, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Atlanta Braves vs.
New York Mets
Saturday, August 24, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Atlanta Braves vs.
New York Mets
Sunday, August 25, 2019
1:10pm EDT
Chicago Cubs vs.
New York Mets
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Chicago Cubs vs.
New York Mets
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Chicago Cubs vs.
New York Mets
Thursday, August 29, 2019
7:10pm EDT
New York Mets vs.
Philadelphia Phillies
Friday, August 30, 2019
7:05pm EDT
New York Mets vs.
Philadelphia Phillies
Saturday, August 31, 2019
4:05pm EDT
New York Mets vs.
Philadelphia Phillies
Sunday, September 1, 2019
7:05pm EDT
New York Mets vs.
Washington Nationals
Monday, September 2, 2019
1:05pm EDT
New York Mets vs.
Washington Nationals
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
7:05pm EDT
New York Mets vs.
Washington Nationals
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
1:05pm EDT
Philadelphia Phillies vs.
New York Mets
Friday, September 6, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Philadelphia Phillies vs.
New York Mets
Saturday, September 7, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Philadelphia Phillies vs.
New York Mets
Sunday, September 8, 2019
1:10pm EDT
Arizona Diamondbacks vs.
New York Mets
Monday, September 9, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Arizona Diamondbacks vs.
New York Mets
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Arizona Diamondbacks vs.
New York Mets
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Arizona Diamondbacks vs.
New York Mets
Thursday, September 12, 2019
1:10pm EDT
Los Angeles Dodgers vs.
New York Mets
Friday, September 13, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Los Angeles Dodgers vs.
New York Mets
Saturday, September 14, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Los Angeles Dodgers vs.
New York Mets
Sunday, September 15, 2019
1:10pm EDT
New York Mets vs.
Colorado Rockies
Monday, September 16, 2019
8:40pm EDT
New York Mets vs.
Colorado Rockies
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
8:40pm EDT
New York Mets vs.
Colorado Rockies
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
3:10pm EDT