Oakland A's
Predictions, Previews, and Odds

#973 New York Yankees
vs. #974 Oakland A's

Tuesday, August 20, 2019 at 10:07pm EDT
Written by Chris Kubala

It’s the start of a series between a pair of teams in the thick of the American League playoff picture out on the west coast. The New York Yankees are on the road as they open a three-game set with the Oakland A’s Tuesday night. New York was dropped 8-4 in the finale of their four-game home set with the Indians Sunday afternoon to split that four-game set. Oakland was defeated 4-1 at home by Houston Sunday but took three of the four games in the series. The teams split six meetings last season with the A’s taking two of three at home in the last series September 3-5, 2018.

New York Yankees Look to Earn Road Success

New York ended up with a split of their four-game set with the Indians as they were beaten Sunday: they now play 24 of their final 36 games of the regular season on the road. The Yankees entered Monday still holding a comfortable 9.5-game advantage over Tampa Bay in the AL East. DJ LeMahieu (run, three RBI), Aaron Judge (RBI) and Brett Gardner each had two hits in the contest. CC Sabathia (5-7) struggled in his return from the injured list and took the loss. He allowed four runs on four hits with three walks and five strikeouts over three innings, throwing 67 pitches, 37 for strikes.

The Yankees turn to Domingo German in this one as he makes his 22nd appearance and 21st start of the season. He comes in 16-2 with a 3.96 ERA, a 1.103 WHIP, 26 walks and 124 strikeouts over 116 innings of work this year. German won his fourth straight start in his last outing, which came last Tuesday at home against the Orioles. He threw seven innings, allowing two runs on five hits with one walk and seven strikeouts in an 8-3 Yankees triumph. German is 3-0 with a 3.32 ERA, a 1.05 WHIP, two walks and 17 strikeouts over 19 innings in his last three starts. He has no record with a 6.00 ERA, a 1.778 WHIP, six walks and seven strikeouts over nine innings of work in two career appearances, one start, against the A’s. German didn’t factor in the decision in his lone career appearance at the O.co Coliseum, which came in relief on June 17, 2017. In that outing, he went four innings, allowing no runs on four hits with three walks and six strikeouts in a 5-2 Yankees defeat.

See Full Analysis with Predictions

Upcoming Scheduled Games

We currently do not have a prediction for this team, check back closer to the game day!

New York Yankees vs.
Oakland A's
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
10:07pm EDT
New York Yankees vs.
Oakland A's
Thursday, August 22, 2019
9:37pm EDT
San Francisco Giants vs.
Oakland A's
Saturday, August 24, 2019
9:07pm EDT
San Francisco Giants vs.
Oakland A's
Sunday, August 25, 2019
4:07pm EDT
Oakland A's vs.
Kansas City Royals
Monday, August 26, 2019
8:15pm EDT
Oakland A's vs.
Kansas City Royals
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
8:15pm EDT
Oakland A's vs.
Kansas City Royals
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
8:15pm EDT
Oakland A's vs.
Kansas City Royals
Thursday, August 29, 2019
1:15pm EDT
Oakland A's vs.
New York Yankees
Friday, August 30, 2019
7:05pm EDT
Oakland A's vs.
New York Yankees
Saturday, August 31, 2019
1:05pm EDT
Oakland A's vs.
New York Yankees
Sunday, September 1, 2019
1:05pm EDT
Los Angeles Angels vs.
Oakland A's
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
10:07pm EDT
Los Angeles Angels vs.
Oakland A's
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
10:07pm EDT
Los Angeles Angels vs.
Oakland A's
Thursday, September 5, 2019
3:37pm EDT
Detroit Tigers vs.
Oakland A's
Friday, September 6, 2019
10:07pm EDT
Detroit Tigers vs.
Oakland A's
Saturday, September 7, 2019
9:07pm EDT
Detroit Tigers vs.
Oakland A's
Sunday, September 8, 2019
4:07pm EDT
Oakland A's vs.
Houston Astros
Monday, September 9, 2019
8:10pm EDT
Oakland A's vs.
Houston Astros
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
8:10pm EDT
Oakland A's vs.
Houston Astros
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
8:10pm EDT
Oakland A's vs.
Houston Astros
Thursday, September 12, 2019
8:10pm EDT
Oakland A's vs.
Texas Rangers
Friday, September 13, 2019
8:05pm EDT
Oakland A's vs.
Texas Rangers
Saturday, September 14, 2019
8:05pm EDT
Oakland A's vs.
Texas Rangers
Sunday, September 15, 2019
3:05pm EDT
Kansas City Royals vs.
Oakland A's
Monday, September 16, 2019
10:07pm EDT
Kansas City Royals vs.
Oakland A's
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
10:07pm EDT
Kansas City Royals vs.
Oakland A's
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
3:37pm EDT