Pittsburgh Pirates
Predictions, Previews, and Odds

#951 Washington Nationals -150
vs. #952 Pittsburgh Pirates 9

Tuesday, August 20, 2019 at 7:05pm EDT
Written by Ricky Dimon

The Pittsburgh Pirates and Washington Nationals will resume a four-game series when they square off at PNC Park in Pittsburgh on Tuesday night.

Pittsburgh in the pits

While Washington leads the National League wild-card race and trails first-place Atlanta by five games in the NL East, the Pirates have fallen apart since the all-star break with seven victories in the last 35 contests. Rookie Bryan Reynolds had one of the four hits for Pittsburgh in the series opener and leads the team with a .326 batting average while teammate Starling Marte saw his six-game hitting streak end. Marte, though, is 12-for-27 over his past seven contests.

Right-hander Chris Archer, who has not earned a victory since June 6, is taking the mound for Pittsburgh on Tuesday. Archer (3-9, 5.23 ERA) has pitched better this month while registering a 3.18 ERA with 25 strikeouts over 17.0 innings and three starts, but his winless streak has reached 12 contests. The 30-year-old two-time all-star gave up four runs (three earned) over 5.0 innings and matched a season high with 10 strikeouts in a loss at the Angels last Wednesday. Adam Eaton is 7-for-15 with a double against Archer, who limited Washington to one run over seven innings in a no-decision April 13.

See Full Analysis with Predictions

Upcoming Scheduled Games

We currently do not have a prediction for this team, check back closer to the game day!

Washington Nationals vs.
Pittsburgh Pirates
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
7:05pm EDT
Washington Nationals vs.
Pittsburgh Pirates
Thursday, August 22, 2019
7:05pm EDT
Cincinnati Reds vs.
Pittsburgh Pirates
Friday, August 23, 2019
7:05pm EDT
Cincinnati Reds vs.
Pittsburgh Pirates
Saturday, August 24, 2019
7:05pm EDT
Cincinnati Reds vs.
Pittsburgh Pirates
Sunday, August 25, 2019
1:35pm EDT
Pittsburgh Pirates vs.
Philadelphia Phillies
Monday, August 26, 2019
7:05pm EDT
Pittsburgh Pirates vs.
Philadelphia Phillies
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
7:05pm EDT
Pittsburgh Pirates vs.
Philadelphia Phillies
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
6:05pm EDT
Pittsburgh Pirates vs.
Colorado Rockies
Thursday, August 29, 2019
8:40pm EDT
Pittsburgh Pirates vs.
Colorado Rockies
Friday, August 30, 2019
8:40pm EDT
Pittsburgh Pirates vs.
Colorado Rockies
Saturday, August 31, 2019
8:10pm EDT
Pittsburgh Pirates vs.
Colorado Rockies
Sunday, September 1, 2019
3:10pm EDT
Miami Marlins vs.
Pittsburgh Pirates
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
7:05pm EDT
Miami Marlins vs.
Pittsburgh Pirates
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
7:05pm EDT
Miami Marlins vs.
Pittsburgh Pirates
Thursday, September 5, 2019
7:05pm EDT
St. Louis Cardinals Cardinals vs.
Pittsburgh Pirates
Friday, September 6, 2019
7:05pm EDT
St. Louis Cardinals Cardinals vs.
Pittsburgh Pirates
Saturday, September 7, 2019
7:05pm EDT
St. Louis Cardinals Cardinals vs.
Pittsburgh Pirates
Sunday, September 8, 2019
1:35pm EDT
Pittsburgh Pirates vs.
San Francisco Giants
Monday, September 9, 2019
9:45pm EDT
Pittsburgh Pirates vs.
San Francisco Giants
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
9:45pm EDT
Pittsburgh Pirates vs.
San Francisco Giants
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
9:45pm EDT
Pittsburgh Pirates vs.
San Francisco Giants
Thursday, September 12, 2019
3:45pm EDT
Pittsburgh Pirates vs.
Chicago Cubs
Friday, September 13, 2019
4:05pm EDT
Pittsburgh Pirates vs.
Chicago Cubs
Saturday, September 14, 2019
2:20pm EDT
Pittsburgh Pirates vs.
Chicago Cubs
Sunday, September 15, 2019
2:20pm EDT
Seattle Mariners vs.
Pittsburgh Pirates
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
7:05pm EDT
Seattle Mariners vs.
Pittsburgh Pirates
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
7:05pm EDT