San Francisco Giants
Predictions, Previews, and Odds

#959 San Francisco Giants
vs. #960 Chicago Cubs

Tuesday, August 20, 2019 at 8:05pm EDT
Written by Nick Raffoul

The San Francisco Giants will travel on the road to Wrigley Field on Tuesday evening for the opening game of their three-game National League series showdown versus the Chicago Cubs.

These two teams are still fighting for a playoff spot in a heated National League postseason race. The Cubs are currently tied with the St. Louis Cardinals for the top spot in the NL Central standings, but would drop down to the final Wild Card spot in the NL if the season were to end today. Meanwhile, the Giants remain within striking distance of the final Wild Card spot, as they head into the week just 3.5-games behind the Cubs. Can San Francisco cut into their deficit in the Wild Card standings with a victory on the road over the Cubs on Tuesday evening?

Beede seeks turnaround versus Cubsr

San Francisco was unable to complete a four-game sweep versus the division-rival Arizona Diamondbacks over the weekend, taking three straight before losing the series finale on Sunday. That will make this week’s series against the Cubs arguably their biggest three-game series of the year. Giants’ manager Bruce Bochy, who is retiring at the end of the season, is well-aware of the importance of his team’s impending series versus the Cubs, saying “We’ll head to Chicago, take a day off and regroup, and it’s going to be another big series.”

San Francisco will turn to rookie right-hander Tyler Beede on Tuesday as they try to keep pace in the Wild Card race. Beede has had a tough time adjusting to being a full-time starter in the big leagues, going 3-7 with a 5.77 ERA in 17 games (15 starts) this season. Times have been even tougher as of late for the Giants’ right-hander, who has allowed four earned runs or more in five consecutive starts. During that span, the 26-year-old is 0-4 with an 8.49 ERA and he’s allowed eight home runs over his last 23 ⅓ innings of work. 

Beede has made one start versus the Cubs already this season, allowing four earned runs and three home runs in just 5 ⅔ frames. According to Baseball Savant, current Cubs are hitting .353 in 18 plate appearances off the Giants’ right-hander heading into Tuesday’s contest. 

See Full Analysis with Predictions

Upcoming Scheduled Games

We currently do not have a prediction for this team, check back closer to the game day!

San Francisco Giants vs.
Chicago Cubs
Wednesday, August 21, 2019
8:05pm EDT
San Francisco Giants vs.
Chicago Cubs
Thursday, August 22, 2019
2:20pm EDT
San Francisco Giants vs.
Oakland A's
Saturday, August 24, 2019
9:07pm EDT
San Francisco Giants vs.
Oakland A's
Sunday, August 25, 2019
4:07pm EDT
Arizona Diamondbacks vs.
San Francisco Giants
Monday, August 26, 2019
9:45pm EDT
Arizona Diamondbacks vs.
San Francisco Giants
Tuesday, August 27, 2019
9:45pm EDT
San Diego Padres vs.
San Francisco Giants
Thursday, August 29, 2019
9:45pm EDT
San Diego Padres vs.
San Francisco Giants
Friday, August 30, 2019
10:15pm EDT
San Diego Padres vs.
San Francisco Giants
Saturday, August 31, 2019
9:05pm EDT
San Diego Padres vs.
San Francisco Giants
Sunday, September 1, 2019
4:05pm EDT
San Francisco Giants vs.
St. Louis Cardinals Cardinals
Monday, September 2, 2019
2:15pm EDT
San Francisco Giants vs.
St. Louis Cardinals Cardinals
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
7:45pm EDT
San Francisco Giants vs.
St. Louis Cardinals Cardinals
Wednesday, September 4, 2019
7:45pm EDT
San Francisco Giants vs.
St. Louis Cardinals Cardinals
Thursday, September 5, 2019
1:15pm EDT
San Francisco Giants vs.
Los Angeles Dodgers
Friday, September 6, 2019
10:10pm EDT
San Francisco Giants vs.
Los Angeles Dodgers
Saturday, September 7, 2019
9:10pm EDT
San Francisco Giants vs.
Los Angeles Dodgers
Sunday, September 8, 2019
4:10pm EDT
Pittsburgh Pirates vs.
San Francisco Giants
Monday, September 9, 2019
9:45pm EDT
Pittsburgh Pirates vs.
San Francisco Giants
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
9:45pm EDT
Pittsburgh Pirates vs.
San Francisco Giants
Wednesday, September 11, 2019
9:45pm EDT
Pittsburgh Pirates vs.
San Francisco Giants
Thursday, September 12, 2019
3:45pm EDT
Miami Marlins vs.
San Francisco Giants
Friday, September 13, 2019
10:15pm EDT
Miami Marlins vs.
San Francisco Giants
Saturday, September 14, 2019
9:05pm EDT
Miami Marlins vs.
San Francisco Giants
Sunday, September 15, 2019
4:05pm EDT
San Francisco Giants vs.
Boston Red Sox
Tuesday, September 17, 2019
7:10pm EDT
San Francisco Giants vs.
Boston Red Sox
Wednesday, September 18, 2019
7:10pm EDT