Texas Rangers
Predictions, Previews, and Odds

#975 Texas Rangers 9
vs. #976 Houston Astros -205

Friday, July 19, 2019 at 8:10pm EDT
Written by Bosun Akinpelu

The Houston Astros will be trying to increase their lead in the AL West when they take on the Texas Rangers in the first game of their three-game weekend series on Friday night. The game will be played at Minute Maid Park and is scheduled to begin at 8:10 PM. ET.

Mike Minor, 8-4, 2.73 ERA, will get the start for the Rangers. The Astros will counter with Justin Verlander, 11-4, 2.98 ERA.

(This preview was written before Thursday’s game was played).

Rangers Trying To Snap Four-Game Losing Streak

The Rangers failed to take advantage of their six-game homestand, losing the last four of those games. They will be hitting the road for their next 10 games and will try to get the road trip off to a good start with a win over the Astros.

Offensively, Texas has played well this season. The team’s .251 batting average is 16th in the league. Their .326 on-base percentage is 13th, as is their .444 slugging percentage. The 515 runs they have scored is seventh in the league.

Elvis Andrus leads the Rangers with a .296 batting average. Joey Gallo leads the team with 22 homers, while Nomar Mazara leads with 51 RBI.

Texas’ pitching hasn’t been as good as the team’s offense. Opponents have a .271 batting average against the Rangers, which is 28th in the league. Their 5.03 ERA is 25th, while their 37 quality starts are 16th in the league.

In his last start, Minor gave up seven hits and four earned runs in five innings, leading to a 7-6 loss to the Astros. The team will need a better performance from him if they want to snap their losing streak on Friday.

See Full Analysis with Predictions

Upcoming Scheduled Games

We currently do not have a prediction for this team, check back closer to the game day!

Texas Rangers vs.
Houston Astros
Sunday, July 21, 2019
2:10pm EDT
Texas Rangers vs.
Seattle Mariners
Monday, July 22, 2019
10:10pm EDT
Texas Rangers vs.
Seattle Mariners
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
10:10pm EDT
Texas Rangers vs.
Seattle Mariners
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
3:40pm EDT
Texas Rangers vs.
Oakland A's
Thursday, July 25, 2019
10:07pm EDT
Texas Rangers vs.
Oakland A's
Friday, July 26, 2019
10:07pm EDT
Texas Rangers vs.
Oakland A's
Saturday, July 27, 2019
9:07pm EDT
Texas Rangers vs.
Oakland A's
Sunday, July 28, 2019
4:07pm EDT
Seattle Mariners vs.
Texas Rangers
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
8:05pm EDT
Seattle Mariners vs.
Texas Rangers
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
8:05pm EDT
Detroit Tigers vs.
Texas Rangers
Friday, August 2, 2019
8:05pm EDT
Detroit Tigers vs.
Texas Rangers
Saturday, August 3, 2019
8:05pm EDT
Detroit Tigers vs.
Texas Rangers
Sunday, August 4, 2019
3:05pm EDT
Texas Rangers vs.
Cleveland Indians
Monday, August 5, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Texas Rangers vs.
Cleveland Indians
Tuesday, August 6, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Texas Rangers vs.
Cleveland Indians
Wednesday, August 7, 2019
1:10pm EDT
Texas Rangers vs.
Milwaukee Brewers
Friday, August 9, 2019
8:10pm EDT
Texas Rangers vs.
Milwaukee Brewers
Saturday, August 10, 2019
7:10pm EDT
Texas Rangers vs.
Milwaukee Brewers
Sunday, August 11, 2019
2:10pm EDT
Texas Rangers vs.
Toronto Blue Jays
Monday, August 12, 2019
7:07pm EDT
Texas Rangers vs.
Toronto Blue Jays
Tuesday, August 13, 2019
7:07pm EDT
Texas Rangers vs.
Toronto Blue Jays
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
12:37pm EDT
Minnesota Twins vs.
Texas Rangers
Thursday, August 15, 2019
8:05pm EDT
Minnesota Twins vs.
Texas Rangers
Friday, August 16, 2019
8:05pm EDT
Minnesota Twins vs.
Texas Rangers
Saturday, August 17, 2019
8:05pm EDT
Minnesota Twins vs.
Texas Rangers
Sunday, August 18, 2019
3:05pm EDT